SURVIVOR (Book 2 in the Alone Series) by James Phelan

SURVIVOR (Book 2 in the Alone Series) by James Phelan
Young Adult
PUBLISH DATE: April 30, 2013
REVIEW BY: Reading In Pajamas/Donna
RATED: 4.5 Stars

BOOK DESCRIPTION:
16 year old Jesse tries to survive a post-apocalyptic New York City.
At the end of the world, it’s hard to trust anyone–even yourself.
Jesse and a ragged band of survivors crawl through the wreckage of New York City. They escaped the Chasers–for now. But the infected zombie freaks are getting bolder, stronger. So when they begin to see signs of human life, they can’t believe their luck. Now they’re the chasers, looking for someone to tell them the worst vacation ever is over. Of course, luck can be good and bad. And the enemy could be closer than your reflection in the mirror. . .

REVIEW:
This book pulls you into the mind of a 16 year old boy trying to survive the aftermath of horrible destruction. To make matters worse, the chemicals have turned people into crazed ‘zombiesque’ hunters. While being chased, he is looking for others like him….normal. When he does find other stragglers, you feel their uncertainty, fear, hope and longing for companionship. Each has a different background and personality but now have something in common and they desperately hang onto that thread and struggle to determine the best course of action.
This story pulled me in and won’t let go. I can not wait until book 3 so I can stop worrying about them. Great read.

*Review copy was received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

20130425-080619.jpg

Advertisements

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe
Release date: April 2, 2013
Rating: 5 Stars
Reading In Pajamas – Cori

BOOK DESCRIPTION:
For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.

“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

REVIEW:
In one word, beautiful! The writing and language were beautiful. The story was beautiful. I’ve never read a book with such beautiful and breathtaking writing. I’m using beautiful a lot, but it is really the only way to describe this book! It took me a while after I read this book, to write this review because I didn’t think beautiful was sufficient in describing the story Shana Abe created. She transported the reader into Lora’s life.

The Sweetest Dark is a new young adult series that takes place in the Drakon world. The Dakon series is her adult series. I haven’t read these books and you don’t have to read them before this book for the story to be understood. I plan on reading the series after reading this book though! The Sweetest Dark can be read by adults and young adults.

I enjoyed all the characters in the book and their interactions with each other. I love dragons and this book is a great depiction of dragon shifters. Great fantasy book! I highly recommend this book and can not wait for the next one!

“Those nights, in the sweetest dark, we shared our dreams.”

*Review copy received in exchange for an honest review.

20130417-082153.jpg